About Us

Advisory Board

The NEAVS Advisory Board complements the NEAVS Board of Directors in their work. Made up of professionals within fields vital to our anti-vivisection work, the following long-standing Advisory Board members bring a wealth of experience, wisdom and enthusiasm to the NEAVS mission.

Ethel Thurston, PhD – In Memoriam
Founding trustee of the American Fund for Alternatives to Animal Research (AFAAR)—committed to funding the development and validation of alternatives to all areas of animal use in science and education.


CheeverHolly Cheever, DVM
Veterinarian; graduate of Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine; founding member and former Board Director of the Association of Veterinarians for Animal Rights; serves on the Leadership Council of the Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association; advisor to New York and Boston Carriage Horse Action associations; serves in advisory capacity regarding expert opinion on harm and suffering of animals.

Marjorie Cramer, MD, FACS
Past Vice President, NEAVS; plastic surgeon; former board member of the Medical Research Modernization Committee and the Association of the Bar of the City of New York’s Committee on Legal Issues Pertaining to Animals. She holds a medical degree from the State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center.

Barbro Ekwall, MSc
Co-founder and program associate of the Cytotoxicology Laboratory (CTLU) in Uppsala, Sweden—dedicated to the development and validation of alternatives to toxicity testing in animals; wife of the late Bjorn Ekwall, MD, PhD, Director of CTLU.

Jane Hoffman, Esq.
Attorney; founding member and past chair, New York City Bar Association Committee on Legal Issues Pertaining to Animals; President and Board of Directors Chair of the Mayor's Alliance for NYC's Animals; inaugural recipient of the Annual Excellence in the Advancement of Animal Law Award from the American Bar Association. She holds a JD from Brooklyn Law School.